PDA

View Full Version : questions to ask

john1
10-20-2003, 09:09 AM
Hi went through your site quite thoroughly and I have a few questions to ask.
But first, I'm new to server configuration but I love apache & opensource - so I'm trying to learn as i go along - hopefully fast.

1.You're using HSP Complete for VPS hosting or CPanel ?

2.Using openwebmail - do i have to upgrade the security patches myself? it's now version 1.8+

3.Can i change the server time-bcoz i'm in asia - I read otherplace where you can only change the log file time & folders time while the email time remains the same? Bcoz to me the email time is quite sensitive, but I think it can be set in Openwebmail?

4.Having multiple emails with multiple domains - the panel itself can do the job?
Bcoz I've had problems in which I will actually have to configure the sendmail conf to have multiple domains have their own emails. I tried HSPcomplete before & it easily creates the multiple emails easily.

5.Subscribing to VPS light how many Mysql hosted sites would it be advisable to run before I upgrade. the applications won't be that intensive.? So for each domain created , they can have their own mysql database right ?

6.each VPS account is already secured or do i have to configure IPtables & apache to further secure it?

7.I can use your own dns to point to my sites right ?

8.Openwebmail does allow users to change their own password after they have logged in right ?

9.I plan to subscribe to that VPS package not the reseller package so I'm not liable for the 250 charge - as you know my technical knowledge is next 2 0 :)

Sorry to trouble you guys, but from the threads I know that fluidhosting would be my choice if everything goes ok.

Thanks in advance.

FH-John
10-20-2003, 04:38 PM
To answer your questions..

1) We are using HSP Complete for VPS accounts. cPanel/WHM can be installed on a VPS account.