Fluid Hosting Forums  
HomeWeb HostingSupportContact UsAbout UsForums |

Go Back   Fluid Hosting Forums > General Forums > Pre-Sales Stage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2006, 10:26 PM   #1
Black Cobra
Stealth Killer
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
G'day all

I have just been told of this place. The plans look wicked.

Anyhow just a few q's.

I am a relative newbie to this server side of things. I have been with www.geekydesigns.com for all my hosting life.

But would like to move over to this place on the large unix plan.
I have around 500 mg sitting on the other server including my database for my VB forums. How would I go about transfering it over to here?
And naturally not losing any posts and so forth..

Now the downtime in the DNS transfer is around 2 days?

Also with payment, if I choose to pay for 3 months, it'll cost me 67US roughly, what then happens in 3 months time, do I get automatically billed for another 3 months or can i pay for 1 month and so on..

I use Cpanel currently. Do you you use it as well??

I also run VBSeo. I know i remember seeing somehting about Zend or Ioncube i think it was, do you run either of that?

Crontabs, can i set them up or do you?

I think thats it for now.
Sorry for the newbish questions..
Black Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 10:31 PM   #2
William
Dazed and Confused
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Restaurant at The End of The Universe
Posts: 906
Hey Black Cobra. Welcome aboard. I knew you couldn't resist.
William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 10:36 PM   #3
Black Cobra
Stealth Killer
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
well i am here, i'll make a decision shortly..
Black Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 10:57 PM   #4
FH-John
Fluid Hosting Tech
 
FH-John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 4,177
Hello!

Quote:
I have around 500 mg sitting on the other server including my database for my VB forums. How would I go about transfering it over to here? And naturally not losing any posts and so forth..
We always assist customer with migration to make sure the smooth migration process. How big is the database itself? As for moving the database, have your old host generate a dump file, which we could then import. Or if your host allow remote connection to their database server, we can also create this database dump file from our end, as long as you provide us with your database credentials.

Quote:
Now the downtime in the DNS transfer is around 2 days?
If planned carefully, we can minimize downtime on your website. Two days is typically worst case. DNS is usually updated in under 24 hours.

Quote:
Also with payment, if I choose to pay for 3 months, it'll cost me 67US roughly, what then happens in 3 months time, do I get automatically billed for another 3 months or can i pay for 1 month and so on..
The prepayment (with discount) is considered a service contract. At the end of the billing period, the contract will automatically renew for the same duration.

Quote:
I use Cpanel currently. Do you you use it as well??
We use H-Sphere for our control panel. You will see that H-Sphere is a more capable control panel than CPanel. H-Sphere offers true multi-domain hosting.

Quote:
I also run VBSeo. I know i remember seeing somehting about Zend or Ioncube i think it was, do you run either of that?
We have Zend installed.

Quote:
Crontabs, can i set them up or do you?
Yes, you can setup cron jobs via the control panel.
__________________
John T. Yocum
"An empty stomach is not a good political adviser." -- Albert Einstein
"There never was a good war or a bad peace." -- Benjamin Franklin

Last edited by FH-Dave; 11-29-2006 at 11:05 PM.
FH-John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 11:07 PM   #5
FH-Dave
Fluid Hosting Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,302
Hi Black Cobra,

Welcome to our community forums. I hope you will like what you see around here and we are eager to have you on board! Our tech support will assist you with your domain/website migration to make sure everything go smoothly.

I have added my replies to John's reply above. Let us know if you have any further questions/concerns about our service.
__________________
Do to others what you would want others do to you.
FH-Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 11:43 PM   #6
William
Dazed and Confused
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Restaurant at The End of The Universe
Posts: 906
Wouldn't it be true that before the end of the three months he could upgrade to a yearly contract?
William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 11:49 PM   #7
Black Cobra
Stealth Killer
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
or downgrade to a month depending on my finances..
Black Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 11:51 PM   #8
FH-Dave
Fluid Hosting Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,302
Yes, of course. You can change your billing term before the end of the billing day. Just let us know you want to do so in advance so we can make sure it's done properly. If you do not let us know, then the billing system will ensure you will continue with the same contract duration.
__________________
Do to others what you would want others do to you.
FH-Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 12:23 AM   #9
Black Cobra
Stealth Killer
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
Ok I will be signing up with a 3 month plan.

I am hoping to do this on Tuesday my time next week. What do I need to do prior to this??
Black Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 02:22 AM   #10
Black Cobra
Stealth Killer
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
OK I am ready to purchase, what now?
Black Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 08:04 AM   #11
Black Cobra
Stealth Killer
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
Well I have registered

Now I await for your instructions..
Black Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 10:53 AM   #12
FH-Dave
Fluid Hosting Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,302
I have activated your account. Welcome aboard!
__________________
Do to others what you would want others do to you.
FH-Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 11:36 AM   #13
Black Cobra
Stealth Killer
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
How do I go about transfering my current database to the new site?
Black Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 11:48 AM   #14
ono-neko
Registered
 
ono-neko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 948
Hi,

You want to create a sql dump file of your current database, create the database from your account's control panel, then use the phpmyadmin to upload your sql dump file to your newly created database.

If the database if big and phpmyadmin time out in uploading the dump file, you can FTP it to your account and we can help you restoring the database. If your other host allow remote connection, you can provide us with the database info, and we can move the database for you.

Please open a ticket by sending an e-mail to support[at]fluidhosting.com and let us know your account info and any additional info that can be useful for use to assist you moving your database. Also, for speedy response for any support questions/issue, it will be best to send an e-mail to support[at]fluidhosting.com instead of using the forum board.
__________________
Hary Tafianoto
ono-neko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 11:18 PM   #15
William
Dazed and Confused
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Restaurant at The End of The Universe
Posts: 906
And make sure you use the email you signed up with.
William is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright© Fluid Hosting WebHosting Services