Fluid Hosting Forums  
HomeWeb HostingSupportContact UsAbout UsForums |

Go Back   Fluid Hosting Forums > General Forums > News, New Features, and Improvements

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2004, 01:57 AM   #1
allera
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 685
HSphere control panel upgraded to 2.4_p2

The upgrade to 2.4_p2 went smoothly and without incident. If anyone is having any problems with anything, please let us know right away!

Else, feel free to converse about the good and bad of 2.4 in this thread!
__________________
Alex Llera
Certified Server Reboot Monkey
allera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 05:53 AM   #2
Skibum
Skibumus Lazium Extremum
 
Skibum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canton, Ct. USA
Posts: 599
OK... It is finally here... but Where's the Beef?

Where is the email filtering?

EDIT 8:10

As I cannot delete my post, I am editing it to say that I should really read your email before I post. I guess thats what happens when you read it at 6:00 AM on a Saturday.


Last edited by Skibum; 06-05-2004 at 07:13 AM.
Skibum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 10:40 AM   #3
Skibum
Skibumus Lazium Extremum
 
Skibum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canton, Ct. USA
Posts: 599
At last... EMail filtering!

Thanks Fluidhosting!

Have any suggestions for setting a level?

I am starting with agressive..
Skibum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 11:40 AM   #4
ian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Question

I had a quick look at the new control panel, and it appears that the email filtering still only applies to local mailboxes. Is that the case? I use catch-all forwarding, and was hoping one of the patches might address that.

Am I missing something? Are there still some more patches to be applied? Or is it just not going to happen?
ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 02:13 PM   #5
cord
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 418
ian,
if you are using catchall, maybe you cant forward it to another email address on the same domain that has antispam applied?

just a thought.
cord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 02:35 PM   #6
AlexanderT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 402
Great work guys. Literally no down time for this major upgrade.

... and spamassassin works fantastically

EDIT: I am not sure if the AntiSpam preferences are working correctly. I set the Spam Check Level to "Aggressive" which is according to the H-Sphere manual equal to rejecting messages that score over 4. According to the headers of my received emails, however, SpamAssassin still requires a score of >= 5 (the default value if no spam level is set).

Another question: what is a "Mail Domain Alias" ?

Last edited by AlexanderT; 06-05-2004 at 02:46 PM.
AlexanderT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 04:17 PM   #7
bdeli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexanderT
Another question: what is a "Mail Domain Alias" ?
From the HSphere Guide:

Mail aliases are alternative addresses to existing mailboxes. They can be used receive e-mail, but the messages will arrive to the primary mailbox. There are two kinds of supported mail aliases:

* mailbox name aliases
- the mailbox and its alias share the same mail domain
e.g. mailbox2@example.com will be an alternative address to mailbox1@example.com
* mail domain aliases
- the mailbox and its alias have different domain parts (i.e. mail domain and its alias) and the same mailbox names. For instance, example.net being a mail alias to example.com, every mailbox on example.com will have a counterpart on example.net, specifically mailbox@example.net will be an alternative mail address to mailbox@example.com.

Mail domain aliases come with regular domain aliases only. You can't have a mail domain alias without a regular domain alias.
bdeli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 05:20 PM   #8
cord
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 418
I would concur with AlexanderT
The antispam settings for spamassassin seem not to be working. For example, I have it on very agressive, and it let a 4 point message get through.
cord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 06:01 PM   #9
Skibum
Skibumus Lazium Extremum
 
Skibum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canton, Ct. USA
Posts: 599
Absolutely an issue. I am on Very Agro as well, and not much is being caught...
Skibum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 07:03 PM   #10
allera
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 685
PSoft will be looking into the 5.0/4.0 problem as others seem to be experiencing the same problem.

Currently, anti-spam is running bare bones. That is, it's simply SA's filters calling the shots. After this 5.0/4.0 problem is resolved, I'll let the system run for a week or so and try adding on different filters, such as bayes, razor2, and dcc support, as those seem to be highly recommended (I use bayes myself and it's great). I'll depend on you guys to let me know if things work to your satisfaction or not.

If you guys have any comments on those add-on filters, I'd love to hear from you. Those filters would be server-wide if/when enabled.
__________________
Alex Llera
Certified Server Reboot Monkey
allera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 07:15 PM   #11
cord
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 418
I also use bayes client side. Problem with bayes (imo) is that it really depends on learning alot. Right now I have 10000+ emails in my junk folder! But it catches pretty much everything.
The other thing with all types of filtering is processing power. I am sure you guys have taken this into account, but some times it amazes me how slow a bayesian filter really is.

btw, great job on the upgrade.

one last thing, there is no AWStats yet correct? I took a look at their website and it looks pretty impressive!
cord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 08:41 PM   #12
Skibum
Skibumus Lazium Extremum
 
Skibum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canton, Ct. USA
Posts: 599
AWS is there, but at the bottom of the page...
Skibum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 09:50 PM   #13
cord
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 418
him
I see the icon and click on it. Then I enter password. It gives me a page cannot be found error so its not there for me
cord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 12:00 AM   #14
bdeli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by cord
him
I see the icon and click on it. Then I enter password. It gives me a page cannot be found error so its not there for me
Same here...I also get the same error when i try to load File Manager.
bdeli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 06:17 AM   #15
Skibum
Skibumus Lazium Extremum
 
Skibum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canton, Ct. USA
Posts: 599
Interesting.... everything works fine here....
Skibum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright© Fluid Hosting WebHosting Services