Fluid Hosting Forums  
HomeWeb HostingSupportContact UsAbout UsForums |

Go Back   Fluid Hosting Forums > General Forums > Pre-Sales Stage

Old 01-30-2008, 02:17 AM   #1
LWZ

VPS, the fear of

Okay, I have searched for nearly 3 months and decided this is where I want to be.

I am planning on creating 4-10 sites over a 1-3 year period and think I might need the power of VPS but not necessarily now ... but if I got lucky, worked hard ... who knows maybe 6-8 months to get 3 or 4 going strong.

My largest quandary is VPS management especially email/spam management and server hardening, I have the fear of the unknown and too technical.

While I have been an IT Team manager I am not tech past fiddling on servers here and there as guided.

I'm good at PCs and understand much of the server lingo and challenges but no experience or hands on and I DON'T want to become a guru, I need to focus on content.

Plus I really wouldn't know where to start to "feel" secure I had done what I should or know the list of things I should do.

Shared hosting experience is pretty high/easy as I have put together web pages in HTML (Dreamweaver/FTP), installed and pointed CGI scripts, and installed several apps including Joomla and such, thanks Google.

Problem is I probably could learn how to manage a VPS but if learning curve is sharp or long or time intensive, I might not be able to balance managing weekly server time beyond a quick back-up and maybe an hour here and there, again the content will keep me busy.

Sites will be either straight HTML type or PHP depending on site and need, mostly PHP Joomla and WordPress.

Eventually one site may grow large and really need a dedicated because it would be for a community "portal" with 120,000 area residents.