Fluid Hosting Forums  
HomeWeb HostingSupportContact UsAbout UsForums |

Go Back   Fluid Hosting Forums > General Forums > News, New Features, and Improvements

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2004, 08:11 AM   #16
allera
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 685
Most of you with the problems already know this, but for those who have not submitted any tickets, File Manager is now corrected and we're working on AWStats.

AWStats appears to be configured correctly and is collecting data as it should, but simply won't display to the user via browser for some reason.

These problems only affected Windows customers, so most of you probably saw no problems.

Spam Assassin is still being checked by PSoft.
__________________
Alex Llera
Certified Server Reboot Monkey
allera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2004, 09:15 AM   #17
cord
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 418
I got a reply from fluid support that fixed my problems!
If you go into your web options, disable and re-enable CGI Dir. Also, make sure that the .pl extension is included in the CGI section.

Lastly (and obviously) make sure you have enabled AWStats on the domain you want.
cord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2004, 09:18 AM   #18
AlexanderT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 402
SA also seems to work right now

The last spam mails I had were flagged with i.e.

Quote:
Content analysis details: (12.2 points, 4.0 required)
which is the setting I enabled in HPshere (Aggressive = 4.0).
AlexanderT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2004, 09:55 AM   #19
Skibum
Skibumus Lazium Extremum
 
Skibum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canton, Ct. USA
Posts: 599
It was my assumption that points were a bad thing..

My last SPAM was a 11.2 of 5 required
the one before that was a 7.9 of 2 required

Just what does this mean?


Thanks
Skibum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2004, 10:22 AM   #20
cord
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 418
When the score is larger than threshold, it will be tagged in the subject line as *****SPAM*****.
You then need to make a rule in your email client to delete anything with that in subject or to move it to your spam folder.

The more the points, the higher the certainty of spam.
cord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2004, 10:25 AM   #21
allera
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 685
If an email has a problem with it, SA assigns a certain amount of points to it. There is a threshold that determines whether it is "tagged" or not. Aggressive's threshold is 4.0. Relaxed is 10.0. That means on relaxed mode, an email has to have quite a lot wrong with it to be tagged.

Let me know if you guys are still having any difficulties with SA.

By chance, are any of you using mail.fluidhosting.com as your SMTP server? If so, what auth method (pop-before-smtp or smtp auth) and are you experiencing any problems?
__________________
Alex Llera
Certified Server Reboot Monkey
allera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2004, 10:47 AM   #22
cord
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 418
I am using the mail.fluidhosting smtp. I had problems getting it to work with smtp auth but I can use it now with pop before smtp. It initially used to work as smtp auth.
cord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2004, 10:49 AM   #23
Skibum
Skibumus Lazium Extremum
 
Skibum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canton, Ct. USA
Posts: 599
I understand what you are saying, but why did my value change from 5 to 2? I did not change anything, and I am on Very Agro.

Perhaps a complete value=name is appropriate?

Also, please understand that I am not complaining! I just want to understand what is going on, so when someone asks me I'll know the answer.

Last edited by Skibum; 06-07-2004 at 10:51 AM.
Skibum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2004, 10:56 AM   #24
cord
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 418
This is because initially, the setting in control panel for level of agressiveness were not functioning. As a result, even though you had your setting at very aggro, it was effectively at normal.

Now that they are suddenly functioning, the threshold has gone way down.

Incidentally, in the headers for my email, it states that auto-learn is set to no. Does anyone know what auto-learn is? I have never really used spam-assissin before
cord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2004, 10:56 AM   #25
AlexanderT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 402
I use mail.fluidhosting.com and am using pop-before-smtp - works fine here.
AlexanderT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2004, 11:03 AM   #26
Skibum
Skibumus Lazium Extremum
 
Skibum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canton, Ct. USA
Posts: 599
Thanks Cord.
Skibum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 10:35 AM   #27
ian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by cord
ian,
if you are using catchall, maybe you cant forward it to another email address on the same domain that has antispam applied?

just a thought.
I guess you meant "can" rather than "cant". Yep, that may work if I used a local FH mailbox, but I actually forward all my email (from a few places) to a single mailbox at my ISP.

It'd be nice if the system could filter forwarded email (not just local mailboxes), but it's not as big a concern for me as it used to be. I've started using Spamcop recently, and it does quite a nice job.
ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 02:10 PM   #28
warrisr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
I see that the new control panel also offers anti-virus filtering as well. Can someone tell me more about the technology that is being used for this?

Ron Warris
warrisr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 02:25 PM   #29
allera
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by warrisr
I see that the new control panel also offers anti-virus filtering as well. Can someone tell me more about the technology that is being used for this?

Ron Warris
ClamAV is being used:

www.clamav.net
__________________
Alex Llera
Certified Server Reboot Monkey
allera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2004, 03:48 PM   #30
cord
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 418
Yes ian, I did mean "can"
You could forward it twice: i.e. catchall to somelocal@yourdomain.com to username@yourisp.com

This may work.
cord is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright© Fluid Hosting WebHosting Services